Autism Charity Event – Autism Fun & Funds

Brief

There are 700,000 people on the autism spectrum in the UK – if you include their families it affects 2.8 million people. It isn’t something that goes away it is incurable, but the right support at the right time can make a huge difference. Despite the large figure, it still remains a taboo subject. I have decided to do a charity night to raise money for the National Autistic Society, not only to help those on the spectrum but to help the family members. It is something that as a sibling, I have had to deal with on a day to day basis, and as much as it is rewarding it is often very challenging. Since my brother was diagnosed, I have researched and interviewed many other people in the same position as him or even me as a carer. I have found out that many of people have had all different situations even pensioners. The National Autistic Society is a charity I hold close to my heart, and I would love to be able to raise the money in order for them to support as many people as possible and make the world a better place for those with autism.

Objectives

my objectives for the event

Strategies

My key strategy is to keep the atmosphere light; I want it to be as fun as possible which is why I have decided to do it in the evening – it is a chance for everybody to let their hair down, but also raise money for a good cause.

My aim is to create a fun night in the Football Club on the 29th July from 7:30pm, where there will be a range of things going on such as, a waxing session, raffle prizes and awards.

It is not an invite only event, everybody is welcome. So spread the word!

Tactics

To create as much awareness as possible I will take a three step approach.

Step 1: Social media

To ensure everyone is aware of the event, I will use social media sites such as Facebook and Instagram. Throughout the planning process I will update the social media sites ensuring everybody is kept in the loop.

 

Step 2: Traditional media

Not everybody uses social media, and I want to make sure that as many people are aware as possible, therefore I will be providing posters and leaflets prior to the event.

 

Step 3: Local help

I am already overwhelmed by all the local help I have received. I have decided that donations boxes and raffle tickets will be in local businesses around the area.

 

 

 

Raffle Tickets

So far some fantastic prizes have been donated for the raffle, there is a £149 necklace from Gregorys, gorgeous home-made photo frames, hairdressers and free makeovers, and restaurant vouchers and there is many more in the pipeline. I am currently working on the process so more will be added very soon. The raffle tickets will be available to buy from the end of May from myself or local businesses in the area. If you don’t do it, you can’t win – so take a chance.

Awards

As I have mentioned, the key is to keep the event as fun as possible so on the night there will be funny awards. If anybody has any ideas for the awards I am happy to do them, the voting will take place on the night and all the winner will receive a certificate! There will be a charge to vote, however you do have a free say to nominate someone for an award prior to the event.

Waxing sponsors

A local business has kindly offered to a waxing service on the night, and a male has been brave enough to take it on! You can sponsor the male on the night and the sponsor money will go to the charity.

DJ

So everybody can have a fun night the DJ will be there from 7:30pm until 00:00. If anyone has any song requests, then I look forward to hearing them on the night.

Evaluation

  • I will keep everybody updated on the money being made during the process of the event and final to the event.
  • If anybody has any ideas or questions please contact me.

If anybody has any ideas or wants to be part of the event please contact me.

Leave a Reply

